The 12 Birthstones in Astrology

Birthstones in Astrology

The 12 Birthstones in Astrology

Did you know that birthstones in astrology are traditionally linked to the zodiac?

This makes choosing jewelry presents for friends and family more fun because you have the chance to get them the right stone for their sign (after all, anyone would enjoy wearing a piece of jewelry more if it meant something special.)

Better yet, to make the conversation more interesting when you gift your loved one the necklace or bracelet, I decided to teach you some interesting basics of birthstones in astrology.

What’s the significance of zodiac birthstones in astrology?

Zodiac birthstones are also called Astral stones, and the word Astral is derived from the realm of astrology – where it has been an essential portion of holistic beliefs for hundreds of years.

If you’re a fan of Astrology, then you know that it’s not exactly science, even though it was originally created as a way to tell time. Different cultures used it to tell when a certain period was over and which one was starting (essentially acting as the timetable of the universe.)

In addition to that, these periods were divided into 12 different sections, which as you will see in the next session, were believed to represent the 12 tribes in Israel as mentioned in the book of Exodus.

Astronomers associated each time period and zodiac sign with a particular birthstone (gemstone). And the idea is that our Astrological sun signs are linked to gemstones on earth that enable us to tap into our hidden potentials.

Birthstones in astrology also have healing characteristics and holistic meanings that can benefit the mind and body.

The Origin of the 12 Birthstones

The 1st 12 birthstones are known to have originated from the war breastplate worn by Aaron. God directed him to create a breastplate decorated with 12 gemstones and follow specific instructions – create a square of gemstones with four rows of three gems each.

These stones were to signify each of the 12 sons and tribes of Israel.

The difference between birthstones in astrology and modern birthstones

The main difference between astrological gemstones and modern birthstones is that birthstones in astrology are based on the zodiac signs whereas modern birthstones are based on the calendar birth month.

Remember, our present-day calendar system wasn’t available at the time Astrology was started. In fact, it wasn’t until the year 1912 that jewelers in America introduced a standardized version of gemstones related to the Gregorian calendar.

In regards to which one you should follow, the answer is, “It depends on your personal faith and belief.” Astrology experts believe that the best, ultimate way to pick a stone is to find the one that communicates with your soul.

List of birthstones in astrology

To conclude, here is the list of birthstones in astrology as well as the zodiac signs they’re assigned to:

  • Aries Birthstone – March 21 to April 19 – Diamond
  • Taurus Birthstone – April 20 to May 20 – Emerald
  • Gemini Birthstone – May 21 to June 20 – Pearl
  • Cancer Birthstone – June 21 to July 22 – Ruby
  • Leo Birthstone – July 23 to August 22 – Peridot
  • Virgo Birthstone – August 23 to September 22 – Sapphire
  • Libra Birthstone – September 23 to October 22 – Opal
  • Scorpio Birthstone – October 23 to November 21 – Topaz
  • Sagittarius Birthstone – November 23 to December 22 – Zircon
  • Capricorn Birthstone – December 23 to January 19 – Garnet
  • Aquarius Birthstone – January 20 to February 18 – Amethyst
  • Pisces Birthstone – February 19 to March 20 – Aquamarine

Do note that even though I have associated one zodiac sign with each birthstone, there might be other stones that are now accepted as well. For instance, Spinel is now widely accepted as a gemstone for Leo alongside Peridot.

If you’re interested in reading the bible verse where Aaron receives instructions from God on how to place each particular gemstone on his breastplate in the Old Testament, visit Exodus 28, 15 – 30.

1 Comment

Post A Comment

%d bloggers like this: