Ruling Planets in Astrology

astrology ruling planets

Ruling Planets in Astrology

If you’re a fan of astrology, then you’re probably aware of which Star/Sun sign you are depending on the time and day you were born. I am also willing to bet that you know the element linked to your sign. But did you know that there are astrology ruling planets and each zodiac sign has its own?

Think of the astrology ruling planets as the bosses of our zodiac signs. They exemplify foundational characteristics about all of us, including the way we interact with others and ourselves. Sometimes they can even go as far as showing us the areas we may excel at in our careers.

With that in mind, let us get to the main section of the post and demystify the influence astrology ruling planets have on their signs.

The Sun rules Leo

The Sun represents men, father, identity, and ego. And just like the sun, a person born under this sign tends to have a high self-image with fiery and intense personalities. They also have talents in management and leadership.

The Moon rules Cancer

The Moon represents nurturing, women, mother, emotions, instincts, mind, feelings, and fluctuations. Just like the moon can constantly change its energy, people born under Cancer (also known as Cancerians) have personalities with shifting natures, which allows them to adapt in any situation.

Mercury rules Virgo and Gemini

Mercury governs creativity, communication, fine arts, intelligence, travel, and writing, which strengthens the decision making and thinking abilities of those born under Gemini and Virgo. These people also make great communicators even though they differ in their style of expression.

Venus rules Libra and Taurus

Venus is the brightest planet and it represents joy, attraction, and love. Those born under Taurus tend to show interest in delicious food, luxuries, jewelry, and collections of artistic objects. Those born under Libra, on the other hand, love aesthetics, beauty, fashion, and sophistication. As you can see, all of them fall under the characteristics of Venus.

Mars rules Aries and Scorpio

The red planet represents action, assertiveness, courage, dynamism, and aggressiveness. Those born under Aries tend to be on the move at all times and they have a competitive edge that makes them keep looking for fresh opportunities.

Scorpios have traits of intense action and energy coupled with a pioneering spirit that makes others follow them.

Jupiter rules Sagittarius and Pisces

The largest planet represents justice, financial prosperity, a noble &generous nature, higher learning, and expansiveness. Those born under Sagittarius tend to enjoy wealth and good health throughout their lives and are lucky. The nature of Pisceans is to envision how life is supposed to be and motivate action beyond the set boundaries in our society.

Saturn rules Capricorn and Aquarius

Saturn represents responsibility, limitation, and structure. It helps those born under Capricorn and Aquarius find awareness in their situations and understand their limitations so they can work toward overcoming them.

Uranus rules Aquarius

Uranus is the planet of innovation, originality, and expanded consciousness, explaining why those born under Aquarius are known for their ability to combine creativity and logic to create pure genius.

Neptune rules Pisces

Pisces, you’re also ruled by Neptune, which was also regarded as the god of seas in Roman Mythology. This planet represents the imagination, dreams, and everything spiritual. That means that if you’re born under Pisces, you’re overflowing with creative energy and you prefer to exist in the clouds, where you play with the line separating fantasy and reality.

Pluto rules Scorpio

Pluto represents repressed emotions and everything that lies underneath the surface, including our subconscious mind. This makes it the master of transformation and if you’re a Scorpio, then you may have noticed that you’re always craving intensity and mystery.

This ability to communicate with your unconscious part makes you one of the most powerful zodiac signs.

As you may have noticed, some zodiac signs have two different ruling planets in astrology. This is because they have what’s called an ancient ruler and a modern ruler. In the past, some zodiac signs shared astrology ruling planets, but as new planets got discovered, astrologers gave some signs of new astrology ruling planets that better matched their energy characteristics.


Post A Comment

%d bloggers like this: